Android Pay a Little Too Easy

Android Pay, formerly known as Google Wallet, had been around for awhile.  I first used it about 6 months ago, only because I was out on a ride and I forgot my wallet.  I had previously set up my debit card with Android Pay.  I guess this forced my hand to use it.  

Well, I ran into the same scenario again.  Oh crap forgot my wallet … Hmm, here’s Android Pay on my phone.  But debit, then give my phone over the ATM kiosk, and voila …. Lunch is paid for.

It turns out Lucky Supermarket takes Android Pay, so I guess that’s how I’ll do my shopping.  I wonder if this is any safe than using my debit card directly on the card machine.  Since it doesn’t read the card directly, I wonder if it would be affected if the ATM machine was hacked.

This entry was posted in security and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

