Finally Updated to Nougat

Finally Android 7.0 was pushed down to my phone.  One reason why I got the Nexus 6 was so that I would get timely security updates.  Well, that was the plan at least.  I was on 6.0.1 for a long time (since probably June).  I know that Nougat was released sometime last fall, so I was patiently waiting.  Yes, I know, I could have manually downloaded and sided the update, by I wanted it to be updated over the air ( OTA).

How I got it was strange.  I didn’t get a Security Update in February, and I know there was one.  I was contemplating sideloading it, but I waited.  Then, Match 16 (half of March went by), and then I get the February update, in the middle of March.  So fine, I’m on 6.0.1 with the February Security Update, then comes another OTA update.  This time it’s Android 7.0 with the March Security Update.  That was strange.

But I know 7.0.1 is out.  I know there was some problem with Android Pay, and that may have caused some of these problems.  Now I read that for Nexus 6 owners, if you want to continue is OTA, you have to be on 7.0.  In fact, some users that were already updated to 7.0.1 had to be downgraded to 7.0, in order to continue to get OTA updates.

So I’ll stay content with 7.0 on my Nexus 6.  I just won’t be able to go to 7.0.1, but I’ll still have Security Updates.  Maybe this will force to get the Pixel?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

