It’s Raining, Got the Day Off … Time for a Matinee

Got the day off (floating holiday, Christmas Eve eve), and normally I would take advantage of this day, and go for a long bike ride.  However, it was raining … and hard overnight.  That means the grounds are really wet, and means time to stay off the bike.  I guess it’s time for a matinee … and I haven’t seen Rogue One yet, so that’s the perfect excuse to see it.

I bought my tickets online, through rottentomatoes.com … which by the way, is a terrific site.  Not only do you get a rating of the movies, but it gives you local showtimes of the theatre in your area.  I went ahead and bought it online, and it even sends you a mobile online ticket.  It gives you a barcode, and all you have to do is bring your barcode in to the attendant, and he scans away.  No hassle, no waiting.  I don’t see why everyone was waiting in line for the ticket office … there were also lines for the self service ticket machine.  Why oh why … just do it online at your convenience at home!

Oh, I know why … there is a $1.50 convenience fee … but so what!  It’s worth it … I think it’s a no brainer.  I guess that’s the geek in me.

I do have one complaint though … you still have about 30 minutes of trailers you have to sit through.  Why can’t we have a movie theatre that just gives you the movie!

Oh the movie … well, I wasn’t intending to give a movie review on this blog … but … This movie can stand on its own, if you haven’t seen any of the other Star Wars movies.  It doesn’t even have the familiar Star Wars theme running through the entire movie, which was refreshing.  It also doesn’t have the crawl you would be used to on any of the previous Star Wars movies.  It’s got everything you wanted in a Star Wars movie … humor, suspense, action, … and oh, a slight hint of romance at the end.  It’s a good movie, to just escape, and have fun.  Go see it … it’s worth it.

This entry was posted in movies, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

