That Annoying Little Spacer

Excited about my new wheels, I went ahead and changed my freewheel cassette over to my new Williams 25 Disc wheel.  Installed everything, and took it for a short spin.  However, something didn’t feel or sound right (like a little clicking).

Upon further inspection, I found the cogs were loose.  So I tightened the lock ring further, but still too much free play.  So I transferred the cassette back to the old wheel, and it’s as snug as can be.  Put it back over, and the same problem.  After an hour of really close inspection, I looked at the old wheel, and in the back of the freewheel, I found a really tiny spacer (one that you couldn’t tell unless you inspect it really closely).  I transferred that little spacer over, and now the cassette is as snug as can be.

Luckily I inspected this closely before going on my turkey day spin.  Oh, and Happy Thanksgiving everyone.

This entry was posted in geek stuff, maintenance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to That Annoying Little Spacer

  1. Its the little things that make all the difference! Well done sir!

Leave a Reply

