I Think I Created a Monster

I’ve always been one to encourage someone to get more and more into biking.  I just love to see the enthusiasm of someone who found the love of bicycling.  The latest is a co-worker, who got into hill climbing.

As a challenge, he decided to sign up for, and train for the Death Ride.  I’ve never done it, but it’s more because of the logistics of getting there, lodging, and the altitude there.  I’m happy to report that he did finish it, but that also meant he wanted a training partner, and the past month or so, he’d want to up the ante on the hill climbing.

So a couple weekends ago, a week after the Death Ride, he led me on a portion of DMD, Mines Road and Mt. Hamilton.  That was a tough ride, with triple digit heat, as we rode along San Antonio Valley, before the final climb up Mt. Hamilton.  That was tough, and by the time the day finished, we ended up with 100+ miles, 8400′ climbing.

So it’s now my turn to lead the ride … and everything I suggest, he’s game … I add in more epic climbs, and he’s in.  Damn, I think I created a monster.  So this weekend will be another epic climbfest … 70.7 miles, and 7236′ climbing.  It’s going to be epic … hope I’ll survive.

This entry was posted in climbfest, cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Think I Created a Monster

  1. A clear example of “careful what you wish for” coupled with “thats my boy” and dash of “Who’s dumb idea was this??”

    Well done!

  2. bribikes says:

    Haha, good luck out there! Personally, I have found that hills and heat are one of my least favorite combos in cycling…I can feel the sweat dripping off my forehead now!!

Leave a Reply

