Epic Jamison Ride

Jamison Creek is one hell of a hard ride (not just because it is steep), but the climb comes in after 40 mile and 4000 feet climbing in your legs.  This is my climbfest in the Bay Area.

It started out with Redwood Gulch, which is no slouch either, with some 15-20% grades in a 1.5 Mike stretch.  Then, a long climb up Hwy 9 over Skyline, down into Big Basin.  And oh, there are some rollies when getting to Big Basin.  Believe me, those rollies can wear on you.

image

I always going through Big Basin, and in those hot summer days, it’s cool to ride through tree shaded park.  Has some pretty awesome trees too.

image

Finally, got to Jamison Creek at Hwy 236.  The house at this corner always has some cute decorations, letting you know where you are.  This time, it’s strawberry theme.  Not sure what the significance is, but it’s pretty cool.

image

Having ridden this before, I know what’s awaiting me … some really tough switchback, and one particular that kicks you at 16%.  I was looking out for that … don’t want to get stuck dismounting and struggling just to climb again.  All I know is I had to concentrate on breathing and just push through each stroke.

I was the only one on this climb.  I guess it’s either not that popular, or people are more sane than to try this.  Finally made it to the top, and I had to take about a 10 minute break, just to recover.

image

Ugh, now I just realized the second part of this ride is getting back home.  That’s like another 30 and 3000 feet of climbing.

I did make it back, but it was crawling up that hill (I guess as long as you complete it, that’s all that counts).  Total stats … 75.9 miles, 7838 feet of climbing.  Wow, big ride.  So much that I couldn’t even muster up a recovery ride > 20 miles.  But I guess I just gotta get my body back into long distance shape.

This entry was posted in climbfest, ride report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

