Prius Dead? Is this it?

Yes, I bike a lot … even in the rain, I prefer to ride my bike to work, do errands, etc … So it came as a surprise to me, when I did decide to drive my Prius, it just wouldn’t start.  It was completely dead.  Not only did my keyless remote not work, but power locks, dash display, clock, everything … no power, nothing.

Uh oh … WTF do I do now?  I couldn’t even put this in neutral.  The trunk … the door doesn’t even have a keyhole to manually unlock it.  Damn!

Actually, it’s been like this for a couple of weeks, but I never really did anything about it.  I mean, why should I … I bike everywhere anyways, and I really don’t miss it.  Well, since I do have to make a trip down to LA, I figure I need to get this taken care of.

I make several calls (not 1, not 2, not 3, but 4 calls), just trying to ask a simple question … is my Prius dead, with no possibility of resuscitation?  Every time, they forward me to a service manager, only to get voicemail.  So I decide to not ask a question, just tell them my car is dead, and need to have it looked at.  So the person who answered says they can have a tow truck come by, tow it to the dealer.  I thought, great … appointment at 2 pm.

So the next day, I take off early, to await the tow.  2:15 pm comes by, and nothing.  So I call the dealer again … they forward me to a service manager, and voicemail again.  Damn it … one more call, and the guy says, we don’t do that.  We give you a number, you call them, and you arrange for the tow.  Well, it would have been nice if someone had told me that in the first place.

I could have raised my voice, really ranted on the phone, but being in customer service, I couldn’t find myself doing that.  I feel for them, so I didn’t make as much of a big deal as most people would.

Well the good thing is, I finally got it towed, they diagnosed the problem as a dead auxiliary battery, but the rest of the car is in good shape.  Whew .. so replace the battery, and all should be good.  What is the auxiliary battery?  It’s like a normal car battery, located in the trunk, by the spare tire.  Well damn, that’s all?  The hybrid battery is still good.

I guess I should drive the car a little more … maybe I’ll just drive it to move parking spots, but it’s good to know I won’t have to go car shopping … at least not yet.  I’d rather do bike shopping.

This entry was posted in car problem, customer service, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Prius Dead? Is this it?

  1. It’s ironic regulations and/or some safety engineering that keep 12V lead acid batteries in cars that you wouldn’t think need one (even all electric ones like the leaf). If you can’t plug your car in or put it on a battery minder trickle charger, drive it on an errand every few weeks to keep its 12V charge up. it powers all the non-drivetrain things. like the door locks.

Leave a Reply

