Still Trying to Keep the Rubber Side Down

I haven’t been blogging much about my riding lately, and there is a good reason (although I’ve been reluctantly avoiding bringing it up).  This year has been a bit rough … First, my crash in March (right in the middle of my preparation for the double century season).  Then, another little spill, in the parking lot of my apartment complex.  About 4 weeks ago, another spill while making a hairpin turn on the bike trail.  The last two were while the ground was wet, and slick.

I’m almost back to normal riding shape.  The toughest part of being in these mishaps is loss of flexibility.  I  didn’t think it would be as big an issue, but it is.  I’ve been riding easily, taking mostly flat terrain of late (commutes help, as it is completely flat).  I would be riding in the most upright position as possible, and even though I’m not expending much power, or calories, at least it’s something.

It’s funny, that while trying to get back into it, you start learning to ride with aches in your body.  Then, all of a sudden, one day, you seem to get more flexible, and the enthusiasm of the ride in really shoots up.  I guess it is true … just give it time … time is such a great healer.

I guess this has made me a little more cautious of rain and wet weather, but as long as I’m upright, I’ll still be out there riding.  So last night, I kept debating on whether or not to ride in, since there was a big storm, dumping rain overnight, but knew it would be clear in the morning.  After much debate, I decided to go for the ride.  Then as I was about to get ready, I felt my rear tire, and it was soft, and had a slow leak over night.  Oh well, I guess that made the decision for me.  Guess I’m riding in.  Damn!

This entry was posted in commute, cycling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still Trying to Keep the Rubber Side Down

  1. bribikes says:

    Slow leaks are a killjoy! Just when you think you are all set to go…

Leave a Reply

