Six Weeks and Still Recovering

Well it’s been about six weeks since my accident … hey, it’s probably been about that long since I last posted a blog entry here.  Anyways, I’ve been able to get enough strength the get back on the bike, for a little bit at least.

The first couple of weeks was pretty rough.  I was walking with very small strides, and just needing to make sure my torso was not moving very much.  In addition to that, sleeping was an issue.  My rib injury is on the right side, and when lying on the bed, it caused changes in my torso position, making it really painful and difficult to sleep.  Rolling onto the left side … it was possible, but very painful.  Rolling onto the right side … that’s a no-no.  Because of this, I had to go and sleep on my recliner chair for a couple of weeks.  Not the most comfortable, but not as painful as if I lied on my back on the bed.

I was able to get around okay, even with my rib injury.  Driving … I had to position my torso, such that when I went in reverse, my body was situated towards the back, which mean spending about a good 3-4 minutes, just backing out.  Luckily, I didn’t run into any impatient cars in any parking lot I was in.

Weeks 5 and 6 gave me a bit more mobility.  I am now able to at least get back on the bike, and do flat rides.  So I’ve been commuting in, on my folder, and since work is only 7 miles, and 200 feet elevation gain, the ride in was not too bad.

These past two weeks, I’ve been able to ride on the weekends … both times, a flat ride out to Shoreline Village.

I figure I have about 2 to 3 more weeks of recovery time, before I can do some sustained climbing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Six Weeks and Still Recovering

  1. Glad to hear you’re recovering and managing to get out on the bike, if only for a little while at first. Keep at it and don’t push too hard too soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

