Where’s My Picture Apple?

So it’s been what … about 3 years since I last owned a Mac.  Been working on Windows all that time, and now I’m back to a Mac as my home machine.

When I take photos on my Garmin VIRB, I typically import them into iPhoto … ahem … maybe that was my first mistake.  I use Google Photo for all my pictures, so I wanted to transfer the photo that was imported into iPhoto, then transfer them over to Google.  Well … that is a lot easier said than done.  So typically, you would see a file where the picture is, and then simply drag it over to Google Photo … right?

Well, first of all, this is Finder, which is where all the files are located, right?  Wrong … I mean look at the list of items you have to choose from in Finder … Favorites, All My Files, iCloud Drive, AirDrop, Applications, Desktop Documents, Downloads.  But where is iPhoto, and where is the equivalent file for the pictures?  So I did a Google search, and I found an interesting thread .. https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3272818?start=15&tstart=0 … the original poster wanted to find out where is the file that is imported into iPhoto.  Exactly what I was looking for.

The main responder went ahead and told the guy that he is an idiot for needing to know where the file is … and basically stating that you don’t need to know where the file is.  And then went on the debate on Apple wants control, and why can’t you answer the question.  Then, he responds with:

In a nutshell: you can’t access the files via the Finder. When you chose to use iPhoto you chose to make it your Photo Manager. Anything you need to do can be don either with or via iPhoto. It’s your “Go-To” app for your photos.

Say what?  The Finder is supposed to have your files.  Well, after reading the thread a bit more, I finally found where the file is located, but it is a bit convoluted.  I have to go into iPhoto, select the photo, then choose File > Reveal in Finder > Original File.

Just to geek out, I wanted to see what the path was.  It is essentially Users/username/Pictures/iPhoto Library/Masters/Year/First two digits of month/day/folder name

Ok, so why couldn’t I find it by browsing through the Finder?  Well, the Masters filder under iPhoto Library is hidden.  What????  Sheesh!

I really wish Apple would compromise on its control of its files.  This simple little want became a 3 hour project.  I want my 3 hours back, Crapple!

This entry was posted in rant and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Where’s My Picture Apple?

  1. debster822 says:

    Well, this explains why I can’t easily find and upload pictures of my listings to my MLS. Dang, that sucks! And here I was all excited, thinking how much easier it would be to be 100% Apple vs. 66% Apple and 33% Windows. Boo, Apple.

  2. I am still fumbling my way through my wifes Mac book. sometimes a web page just slides to the right and never comes back…

Leave a Reply

