But I Don’t Want a Cable Modem Router

Current trend these days, is when you have an ISP broadband connection, like cable modem (e.g.  Comcast or AT&T), they require the connection be terminated at their router, and you have no control over it.  I really hate this, as I have no idea what is allowed through that router.  And now, with the security vulnerability of cheap routers (that the ISP is providing you), it leaves you with a feeling of hopelessness.

If you want an example, go and see http://www.networkworld.com/article/2862390/security0/misfortune-cookie-vulnerability-affects-12-million-routers.html

I have no idea if the router they placed at my termination point has up to date firmware, and even if the router is vulnerable.  To secure myself, I have a secure firewall behind the router, so that even if some worm compromises my router, then at least I can provide some type of protection.

Before Comcast required me to change from the old cable modem bridge, to this new cable modem router, I used to be able to remotely log into my firewall, and monitor scrupulous activity.  Now, I don’t have that ability, with that NAT router.  Maybe this is the reason to get a business class Internet connection?  But I’m not sure if I want to pay the extra amount for that.

My point???  If your ISP provides you with a NAT router, get another NAT Router or Firewall, that you can control.

This entry was posted in exploits, work-related and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

