Maybe I Shouldn’t Have Left My Phone Out in the Rain

When I ride my commuter bike, I have a mount for my phone.  When I ride, I typically start up my Strava app, and track my ride with that.  The past couple of days, we had a really heavy storm … 3.23 inches of rain in San Jose in one day!  Wow, that’s a lot for San Jose … usually we’d be lucky to get 0.25 inches.  It didn’t dawn on me that I should take my phone off of the mount, and keep it dry.  It’s not like I need to look at it, as the screen dims after a period of time out, so it doesn’t really make sense to leave it on the mount.

Well, this made for a bad combination.  When I woke up, to my surprise, I found my phone was down to 10% battery.  The odd thing was, I had my phone charger plugged in.  I tried different chargers, and same thing happened.  I even tried the same charger on my Niterider light, and it charged up.  Damn, I think I fried my usb charging port on my phone.

When I got into the office, I tried my wireless charger, and luckily, that still worked, and I’m able to charge my phone.  Wow, I guess I learned my lesson … don’t leave your phone out in the rain.  I love my wireless charger even more now.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Maybe I Shouldn’t Have Left My Phone Out in the Rain

  1. bribikes says:

    Poor phone! I am glad that your wireless charger still works on it.

Leave a Reply

