Every Now and Then, You Need a Break … Even From Cycling

Although I haven’t been on the rigorous double century schedule, I have to say that the body is starting to wear down.  After the demanding SCMC, and climbing Crystal Lake on a heavy 20 year old bike, I may need some recovery.

Take this past weekend, for example.  I didn’t have anything planned, so I decided to do my usual Mt. Umunhum climb.  I did feel a slight twinge in my left knee, just before climbing Kennedy, and then onto Hicks, and eventually Umunhum.  I figured it would work itself out on the smaller Kennedy climb.  I probably should have listened to my body at that point, but being the stubborn “in it to finish it” rider that I am, I continued on.

Ugh, big mistake that was.  I went on to climb Hicks, but shortly after the steep part of Hicks, I could not go on.  I was probably about half way up the steep climb, but I just didn’t have it in me.

I go to Sports Basement, and get this thing called “The Stick”.  It’s kinda like foam roller, except you take this stick, and you roll it on the affected body part.  I rolled it on my knees, and wow, that hurt, but felt so good.  I don’t know why I didn’t get this before … it’s great!  Also laid an ice pack on the knee.  I figure I’d rest up the rest of the day, and see how it is in the morning.

The Sunday ride was starting at 8:30 am, but I had to ride 18 miles to the start.  With the way my knee was feeling, I figured it would be best to ride to the start.  Now I’m known for not driving to the start of a ride (I mean, it doesn’t make sense to me).  Immediately, Brownwen says “you’ve got a car?”.  LOL.

The actual ride was to go up Kings Mountain, then onto Half Moon Bay.  However, I felt I wanted to make it a short day, so I opted for the Kings > 92 > Canada, back to the cars.  It was still a great day.  I had some extra zip in my legs this day … I got a PR going up Kings.  Here’s the last KM of that PR.

We proceeded going north on Skyline to Hwy 92, where the group would split off.  Actually, half of us went the short route, so that was cool.  One of the riders was chatting with a motorcyclists, and says we were going fast … I guess they must have referring to me.  I mean, it was only 40 mph … I guess they’re not used to seeing a cyclist going that fast.  Hey, at least we weren’t impeding traffic too much.

This entry was posted in cycling and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

