There is a Speed Limit on Multi Use Trails

I don’t know what the speed limit on Multi Use trails (MUT) is, and I have to admit I do go over what the limit may be, but there are racers out there who think the MUT are their race course.  It definitely is less than 20 mph, and you don’t pass someone on the left who is already in the process of passes another.  That’s what happen to me today.

I was on the Stevens Creek MUT in Mountain View, and was on my way to pass a rider on the left then suddenly a guy in a full Bianchi kit squeezes by me on my left.  What a freakin moron!  I was probably going 18-20 mph, so if this guy was passing me at that rate, he had to be going 25 mph.  Thus should not be happening!  That was followed by another guy who passed me too in a 5 second period.  What’s worse, they didn’t yell out “on your left”.

Ettiquette folks!

This entry was posted in cycling, Rants and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to There is a Speed Limit on Multi Use Trails

  1. curtis says:

    Around here it’s 15 mph, which seems fast enough for a dog walking MUP.

  2. It’s 15 on the Burke Gilman, and I slow to much slower when kids are around

  3. ladyfleur says:

    It’s really disappointing (but not surprising) when you see riders take their aggressive driving habits onto the trail. And if it’s disconcerting to other people on bikes, imagine how the people on foot must feel. That’s why I see signs that say 15 mph speed limits with 5 mph when passing.

    The result is complaints to city hall and silly signs like a the 5 mph sign on the wide-open descent of the Stevens Creek Trail bridge over Hwy 85. I know it’s there because too many hot shots were flying by at 20+ mph, regardless of who they were passing on the trail.

Leave a Reply

