Contour Handlebar Mounted Doesn’t Work Well on Chipsealed Roads

I recently did Hamilton this weekend, and was going to video my descent down the backside of Hamilton.  The road is chipsealed, but I thought I’d take video anyways.  The video was so bumpy and so choppy, I’m wondering if this has to do with the mount.  Do any GoPro users experience the same thing?  I probably should have taken the helmet mount instead … oh well

This entry was posted in cycling, video and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Contour Handlebar Mounted Doesn’t Work Well on Chipsealed Roads

  1. ladyfleur says:

    The helmet cam isn’t great on bumpy roads either. Here’s an example from a rocky trail outside of Las Vegas: http://youtu.be/aFMY1HDDS0c I was riding a full suspension bike and likely out of the saddle for most of the descent.

  2. BikingBrian says:

    I’ve not had any luck with the Contour cameras mounted on the handlebars. I always get the “rolling shutter” effect even on smooth roads. Though I hear recording at 60 fps might help, so I might try that sometime.

    Which Contour camera do you have? I used to have the 1080p but I just upgraded to the +2, but I haven’t had a chance to really try it out yet. I’m looking forward to using the iPhone app as a viewfinder to help me align the camera on my helmet.

    • sevencyclist says:

      I shot this with my Contour GPS. I haven’t had much luck with bumpy roads and I am continuing to experiment with them.

Leave a Reply

