Last Ride of the Year … Quest to reach 7000

As the year comes to a close, I went and looked at my Strava stats.  I looked at the training page, and it said I had 7 more miles to go for 7000 (6993).  I then looked at my personal profile, and it broke down the mileage for the year, and broke it down to cycling, running, etc.  Ah, running … I had forgotten all about the 10k run I did, and the training runs I did for that.  I logged my running miles on Strava, and instead of needing to 7 miles, I needed to do 38.  And only one day to do it too.

Luckily there was no rain forecast, so this goal is very reachable.  I had done an out and back to Kings Mountain the day before, so I didn’t want to just do a flat ride out to Woodside and back.  Hmm … I was going to do Mt. Eden, then head over to Kennedy and Shannon, and that would have gotten me the extra 38 miles needed.  I headed over to Stevens Canyon, and something in my head said “Montebello”.

I’ve got a few screws loose in my head.  I could have done a fairly flat ride, and here I go climbing a 2500 ft elevation hill climb … and do this on one of the coldest days of the year???  What am I nuts? – Don’t answer that … I already know, I am.

I really took my time on this climb … but hey, I’m not out to set any records, just finish it.  It actually wasn’t too bad up on top.  Although the temps were lower than normal, it wasn’t all the windy, which really helped a lot.

Do they really need that many locks to lock the gate?

I ended up with 7003 miles, 378k feet climbing, and 548 hours, 6 minutes.  That’s a lot of time on the bike, but all good.

Goodbye 2012.  I don’t know what’s up in store for 2013.  I’m gonna do some Randonneur events, and will most likely do 2 or 3 double centuries, but other than that, I think I’ll just enjoy the ride.

This entry was posted in cycling, ride report and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

