Tale of Two Bank Related Customer Service Experiences

Shouldn’t a bank have customer service available 24×7?  I recently had to call BofA because of an ATM card issue for my dad, but when I called customer service, they said it was closed, and office hours were something like 8 am to 8 pm … must have called after 8 pm, but wouldn’t you think they would be available 24×7?

On a happier note, we had a mix up with ATM cards, and we accidentally cut up the good one.  We had to go into the bank the next day to order a new card, thinking we’ll have to go 5 days without an ATM card, and needing to withdraw about $200 just to get through the week.  Much to my surprise, they did give us a temporary card, which lasts for 1 month, right on the spot.  So this was a good and bad story of customer service … bad that it wasn’t available 24×7, good in that they gave us a temporary ATM card on demand.

I had a separate issue on my debit card with Chase, and I had to call them for that.  I did this at 8:30 pm, and I was able to get to customer service immediately.  This is exactly what I expected.

This entry was posted in Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

