Uphill Suffer Festival Videos

I’ve been playing around with my Contour helmet cam for several weeks now, and came to the conclusion that it’s more fun to show the pain and suffrage of climbing a hill, rather than the fast descents (although that is a lot of fun too).

Actually, the inspiration for filming suffer videos is bikeforums member freighttraininguphill. I saw a few of her suffer festival uphill videos, and that got me thinking of filming my uphill adventures.

I got a lot of great feedback on my Potrero climb, from the Grand Tour Double.

I decided to climb Redwood Gulch, which had similar grades to Potrero … In other words, double digit grades (from 12-20% grades). I took this video with the handlebar mount, which picked up a lot of road noise … Kind of annoying.

Another steep climb is Moody, and I decided to film this with the helmet mount instead. This is a short but steep climb, and perfectly suited for a suffer video … And you can hear that suffrage too.

I went searching for a mother steep climb, and then I hear people talking about China Grade, so I looked this up …. Hmmm 10% grades for a little over a mile … Ok, I’ll go for that. As you can tell, this was on the handlebar mount.

I’m still undecided on which is the best way to film these. On the one hand, helmet cam won’t pick up all the annoying road noise, but on the other hand, I would have to concentrate on keeping my head up. On steep climbs, you tend to look down on the ground, so that’s where the handlebar mount would be handy.

This entry was posted in cycling, video and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Uphill Suffer Festival Videos

  1. Phoebe says:

    Hi there, “freighttraininguphill” here. I’m glad you enjoy my sufferfest videos. πŸ™‚ Yours are the best I have ever seen, especially Moody πŸ˜‰ The helmet mount picks up the suffer sounds the best, but I agree about having to remember to keep your head up. I spend so much time looking down on tough climbs that a helmet mount won’t work for me. You might want to consider a Kodak Playsport like mine for handlebar use. It has a sensitive enough mic to pick up the suffrage. Mine only cost $117 before tax at Best Buy. The mount I use is the Pedco UltraClamp.

    Keep up the good work! I’m loving these videos!

Leave a Reply

