Another Splurge – Helmet Cam

I’ve had my eye on a helmet cam for a while now.  I’ve been seeing so many youtube videos of wild descents bombing down a mountain, and there are so many times I wish I could take a video of my rides, so time to make the plunge.

Now I have read all the reviews, and yes, the GoPro HD seems to have better quality, and seems to be more prevalent.  However, I just don’t like the form factor.  It looks too boxy.  I eventually decided to go with the Contour 1080p HD.  I like the compactness.

The camera is really easy to set up.  It has two laser pointers where you can align the angle of the lens so that you are horizontal.  However, if you mount it on a horizontal or vertical surface, you shouldn’t have to calibrate it too much.

It’s got a big thumb switch, and you just slide it over, and it starts recording.  How easy is that?  However, they can make it as easy as they want, but this doofus will still find a way to screw it up.  You have to turn it on in order to record.  Gee, imagine that.  Actually, what happened was I got a spare battery, so I went and charged it over night.  I mounted but did not turn it on.  I do the record thing, but I didn’t realize it wasn’t on.  I should have known something was up when I didn’t hear a beep.  D’oh.

Here’s a video I took on my inaugural ride into work on Wednesday.  Short video while on the beginning of the San Tomas Aquino Bike Trail

This entry was posted in geek stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Another Splurge – Helmet Cam

  1. Yihua He says:

    I’m on the same boat. I borrowed a Gopro HD from one of my friends and really like its picture quality. However I don’t like its boxy look and it’s kinda heavy when mounted on the helmet. Contour HD looks great, not too heavy, better control without looking, but I’m a little concerned about its picture quality. So I’m still straddling the fence…

Leave a Reply

