Rants Regarding Early Morning Ride on Bike Trails

Ok, I admit, I am nuts, riding on the San Tomas Aquino Bike Trail at 6 am, where it is still pretty dark (although it is getting lighter).  There aren’t many people on the trail at that time, but there are a few.

There are joggers out there … now I commend anyone who gets up that early, to do a workout, quickly get home, shower up, then fight traffic … woof … but if you are going to be out there in the dark, wear something reflective, or better yet, blinkers.  When I come behind you, I can only see you and react in a split second.  Very dangerous.

Other cyclists … same goes to you too.  Wear something reflective, and something that blinks informing the world that you are here.  I’ve got reflective bands on both my ankles, a blinking strap around my left leg, front and rear facing blinkers on my helmet, blinkers on my handlebar, blinkers under my saddle, and a forward facing headlight.  I want to let people know I am out here.

Lastly, to continue on the bike trail, we do have to cross a street with a traffic light.  Now I realize there is no one out there at 6 am, but don’t just cross the intersection on a red light (even if there are no cars around).  That leaves a bad precedence.  I guess they haven’t seen Harold and Kumar, and the scene where they step off the curb, and immediately get pulled over for J-walking, completely out of the blue?

Ok, glad I got that off my chest.

This entry was posted in cycling, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Rants Regarding Early Morning Ride on Bike Trails

  1. Dom Tuliop says:

    Sorry I’ll put a blinky on but I’m not waiting there for no darn good reason
    “but don’t just cross the intersection on a red light (even if there are no cars around). That leaves a bad precedence. “

Leave a Reply

