Bailing on the Double

My goal for 2010 was to start off my double season by doing Solvang Double.  It is one of my favorite doubles, and arranged to get a bunch of my pals in NorCal to make the trek down to Solvang, and do the ride.  I’d be able to ride with some of my old friends from Southern California, so it would be a bit of a reunion of sorts.  So as you can tell I was really looking forward to it.

But then, things started to turn south.  First, I get into an accident descending Montebello.  That took me off the bike for about a week or two, so that’s not too bad.  Then, I have an accident in the office, where I gashed my leg.  I couldn’t put any weight on it for a while, so that took me off the bike even more.

Today, I went for a leisure 50 mile ride up Old La Honda today, trying to gauge how much fitness I have lost.  I figure if I have enough energy in me after this ride, I may go for the double anyways.  Well, my climb up OLH wasn’t too bad … not the best, but got in 29:30.  On the way home, I was constantly trailing in the back, and was getting winded really easily.  I got in 50 miles, and about 3000 feet of climbing, but I can definitely tell I lost some fitness.   I really didn’t feel fresh enough after this ride to think I can do this for 200 miles.  Today, at best, I could have probably done 75 miles … not even 100.

So sadly, I won’t be at Solvang this year.  It really pisses me off, because I really wanted to do this ride.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bailing on the Double

  1. Bill Meadows says:

    nah…. you can do it!!!!

  2. Pete says:

    Hey, don’t put so much pressure on yourself…remember that a lot of people have decided to go for the triple crown because of your jersey…so you’ve been there done that! Know what I mean?

  3. knotty says:

    You youngins will regain fitness in no time. Us old farts have to really work at it.

Leave a Reply

