Back in the Saddle Again

Two weeks after the fall, I feel like I’m ready to go riding again.  Left shoulder doesn’t seem to be bothering me too much, and there is absolutely no tenderness or pain on my left hip, so onto the ride.

So for my first ride back, do we ease into it?  What do you think … knowing the Wrecking Crew, it would be an epic one … and it was.  Actually, this was a comeback of sorts for me, and for Chris, who had been battling colds for the past 3 weeks.  And with all the rains we have been having, it has kept most of us off the bike.

So we all decided to do Mt. Hamilton, then Kincaid.  We started out late, mostly due to Michael having a dentist appointment … on a Saturday!  We were supposed to start at 10:30 am, but we didn’t really roll till around 11 am.  Talk about running late!

Donald actually rode from his house over to the start.  He was the only brave soul who dared to ride to the start.  I toyed with that idea, but seeing this is my first real ride back, I figured just doing Hamilton and Kinkaid would be enough miles.

We headed off a little after 11 am, with Ramon and Donald, assuming their normal positions, in the front, tearing up the pace up Alum Rock.

As soon as we turned on Hamilton, I immediately assumed my position … in the back.

The weather was really nice.  The sun was shining just enough to feel some rays.  This will be a welcome change, instead of the washing your bike after you finish your ride routing.

After I got separated at the lower portion of Hamilton.  But then again, as I look down, I am in my big ring.  Oh well, I figure I’d go as long as I could here, then shift to my middle ring.  Anyhow, at this point, I am riding solo, as everyone is way ahead of me … at least until Donald got a flat.

That’s one way to keep the group together.  Luckily, that would be the only flat for the entire ride.  After about 2 more miles of climbing, I was distanced yet again.  At this point, I switch to my granny gear, but I wasn’t getting any closer.  I think my fitness has really affected me, not just over the last couple weeks, but since the beginning of the year.  I think I also gained a few pounds, so I gotta do something … but that’s for another blog.

I kept trying to think in my mind to push a little harder, as my heartrate isn’t really being pushed too much, but then again there is a little issue of power … it just isn’t there.  However, I can say that I am impressed that I have kept up as much as I could.  I think my PB up Hamilton is 2:02, or something like that, and I made it up there at around 2:10.  Not bad, but about 2 miles from the top, I see Donald coming down the mountain.  He had to get back earlier, so he wouldn’t be able to join us on Kinkaid.

Reaching the top, I was just exhausted, tired, wanna sleep.  Parts of my mind were thinking to skip Kinkaid, but I knew I’d be ridiculed and peer pressure is coming into play here.  Since everyone else is doing Kinkaid, I gotta do it.

We descend down, then onto Kinkaid, where we are greeted with an incredibly smooth road … really nice.  Then, we get a few short climbs, descend even more, then pass the bridge, and start the climbs.  It’s really pretty down here, and no one to bother us.  There was not one car, or any other cyclist down here at all.

The climb really beat us all into submission.  The climbs were tough, especially after climbing all the way up to the top of Hamilton.  After the bridge, the climbs start out at about 11, then stay steady at around 5-6%.  Then, it just kicks you in the butt near the end back up to 10-12%.  It’s about 2 miles, and about 900 feet climbing, but after already doing 4500 feet already, it really gets to you.

Now the hard part … going back again.  So this detour is actually adding 1800 feet to our climbing.  The is some way to get back into the groove, eh?  Needless to say, I’m taking a break tomorrow.  Gonna ride my recumbent, giving it to Jack, since I really am not riding it at all.  I might as well let someone else enjoy it.

For more pics, go to http://spingineer.smugmug.com/gallery/11236476_jMDjs/#788048130_EWvL5

Final stats:

Distance: 50.4 mi
Elevation: + 6732 / – 6692 ft
Max Grade:
18.4 %
Duration: 04:54:50
Moving: 04:24:57
Stopped: 00:29:53
Calories: 4323
Avg Watts: 244
Max Speed: 34.7 mph
Avg Speed: 11.4 mph
Max Cad: 166 rpm
Min Cad: 0 rpm
Avg Cad: 41 rpm
Max HR: 176 bpm
Min HR: 104 bpm
Avg HR: 147 bpm
HR Zone 1: 16 min
HR Zone 2: 27 min
HR Zone 3: 1 hour 34 min
HR Zone 4: 1 hour 17 min
HR Zone 5: 1 min

http://ridewithgps.com/trips/16575

This entry was posted in cycling, ride report and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back in the Saddle Again

  1. GT in LA says:

    Ron,
    great ride report and wonderful that you are back in the saddle. You’ll knock out those double centuries just fine.

    • sevencyclist says:

      Thanks GT for the complements. It’s kinda funny to have the same post-ride physical ailments again … feels good.

  2. Bryan says:

    That sounds like a tough ride even if you hadn’t had to take a couple months off. Nice to see you back riding again though.

Leave a Reply

