Timing Is Everything

Okay, so the last day of my PTO, and one last day to get a ride in.  So the original plan is to go up Redwood Gulch, then to Saratoga Gap, then north on Skyline to Skylonda, then down 84, then back home.  Great plan, right?

It had rained the night before, but by the time I started, I saw blue skies, and the sun was out.  However, as I look south, I see really dark dark clouds.  My route is heading straight for the ominous clouds.  By the time I got to the top of Hwy 9 and Hwy 35, it was pretty cold.  There was no sun, and I didn’t have my jacket with me … only my arm warmers.  I didn’t want to chance it, and headed for sun.  So this meant going back down Hwy 9 (where I had just climbed).  It was cold descending, then I decided to climb up Pierce, to warm up.  As soon as I reached the peak at Pierce, the sky opened up.  Oh well, I had gone down this far, I might as well, just head back home.  I should start looking at 1.5 weeks of emails.

Later in the day, I see it all clear, and actually pretty warm.  Damn … I guess I went out too early … but I waited till 10:30 am!  Oh well … I did feel pretty tired by the time I got up to Saratoga Gap.  I was climbing to the tune of Heart and Toto, so that helped pick up my pace, but that also meant spending lots of energy.  I guess this was my excuse to finish the ride.

Screenshot_13

Screenshot_14

This entry was posted in cycling, ride report and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Timing Is Everything

  1. knotty says:

    Good looking blog Ron, great photos. Everything is laid out perfectly.

Leave a Reply

