I Need my Straitjacket fitting now …

Two years ago, I was crazy enough to complete the Triple Crown based on my dear friend Mary, telling a crowd of 20 cyclists at Stan’s Monrovia Bike Shop that I am doing the Triple Crown. Oh really? It’s a good challenge, and I completed it … yea. It was the first Triple Crown I have ever done, and to date, 4 double centuries in my career.

This year, Pete corrals a bunch of BF’ers, including Curtis, and a few others, to have a big BF contingent at Davis. That’s cool …. Davis Double has tremendous support. I’m up for that … it will be a party of sorts. Last time I was there, I reunited with so many friends, and I think it’ll be something similar to that this year. Davis is one of the best supported rides I have ever done, 100 or 200 miles.

Marco and Ruth, the cute engaged couple, are so stoked about doing Eastern Sierra. It’s a gorgeous ride, and I couldn’t get the Friday before Eastern Sierra is off, so I thought I wouldn’t be able to do it this year. However, I worked out a deal with my boss to work half day, so I would be able to get to Eastern Sierra. Oh boy … next big hurdle is whether or not I’ll be able to do it.

Schedule-wise, Davis and Eastern Sierra is about 3 weeks apart. I’ve never to 200 mile rides in such close proximity. Closest I’ve done is two doubles, 5 weeks apart. After telling everyone, and everyone saying I should do it (easy for them to say, they probably aren’t doing it), I finally decided I’ll do it. Am I nuts? I think I need to get myself taylored for a straitjacket.

I think what put me over the edge is Lynn’s review of the ride:

“One of my favorite rides as far as location; the scenery is awesome! The only downside for me is that the altitude always affects me. The ride is very front loaded as far as the climbing, so it’s usually slow going; just pace yourself and keep moving. Start with the earliest group possible and you can probably finish in the daylight. Nothing is really steep, but just long grades. The climb after lunch can feel relentless with the multiple false summits, especially if it’s hot. But, they usually have a water stop on that climb…you really need it there. Expect some rough pavement in sections, especially going around June Lake Loop and there’s a stretch after Sage Hen Summit.

Three weeks is just right as far as I’m concerned. Recover one week and then moderate ride the following week. But, watch the weather forecast. If it’s hot, it could be a real challenge!”

This is great advise, and this has convinced me to do it. Lynn has been a great friend for many years, and she provided the best summary of the ride, and convinced me to do it. Of course, she has done about 90 doubles, so she has a lot of experience there. I just hope I can live up to the hype.

If I do survive Eastern Sierra, after surviving Davis, I gotta do a third one. Although Grand Tour is nice, and is end of June, about 3 weeks after Eastern Sierra, I probably should pass on that, and rest up. I may do Knoxville Double, but not sure.

This entry was posted in cycling. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Need my Straitjacket fitting now …

  1. Pete aka Taxi777 says:

    Go for it! BTW I know a good tailor…Cathy’s specialty is straight jackets, I have a couple of them.

  2. jobob says:

    I see you opted for an “easy” ride up in Pt Reyes with the bf guys instead – Henry just posted a pic to facebook 🙂

  3. spingineer says:

    Jo,
    The plan was for Pt. Reyes, but we were running low on time, so we did Mt. Tam instead.

  4. jobob says:

    I spazzed out and thought Eastern Sierra was today — that’s what the ‘easy’ ride comment was about. D’oh. 🙂

Leave a Reply

