Wacky PTO’s

Normally, requesting for PTO’s aren’t a big deal, right? All you do is go onto your company’s Intranet site, and request certain number of hours for PTO, and your balance would be deducted, right?

Well, with the state of the economy, the way it is, the company I work for is trying to cut cost in whichever way possible. One way is to not have people come into the office, so they decided the company will shut down the office for a week near Memorial Day, and a week near 4th of July. One problem though … we support customers, 24×7. Customer Service simply can’t shut down, because other companies are not.

So they have decided that everyone is forced … that’s right … forced to take 17 PTO days between March 1st and December 31st … of which 10 of them needs to be between March 1st and September 30th. So for those 10 days, no formal PTO form is filled out. What??? Well, HR will automatically take 10 days off of everyone, at end of September, regardless of if you took it off or not. So how will the individual keep track? I guess it’s up to the department to figure out. Good grief!

So what if you don’t have 10 or 17 days of PTO available … too bad. You will have negative PTO days. I guess this is one way they are saving money … by not paying people for PTO time. Surely they could have thought of some better way, but I guess not.

My boss has always been on my ass about taking PTO time, as I will lose it if I don’t take it. Well, I guess this is one way that he won’t have to worry about it. I’ve got a lot piled up, so it’s not such a big deal for me. Maybe I’ll sell some of my time, and make a little more money on the side?

This entry was posted in Rants, work-related. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

