2 Days until the Tour …

… and I’m just so excited about this. The only thing I can think of these days is making sure I don’t screw up. I’m also worried about the weather. When I look at accuweather or weatherunderground, it forecasts rain throughout the entire length of the tour. This got me worrying that I will be completely drenched. It’s not like I will be able to duck under an awning, because I’ll most likely be out in the elements, directing traffic, clearing course, etc, and if it’s raining, I’ll be wet, most likely cold, and damp.

So it’s off to Sports Basement and eventually REI (mostly because I didn’t want to spend too much and wanted to find a bargain). I ended up going to REI, and got waterproof jacket and pants. They make a big point out of not jeans and wearing black or khaki’s as a course marshall … well if I cover it with waterproof pants, they won’t see my khaki’s (but it is black). I spent over 2 hours shopping for these … Damn, I’m like a woman shopper!

As soon as I left, I realized I didn’t get a hat or boots or anything to protect my feet. I think if I really have to, I’ll put my feet in plastic bag, then put my shoes on. It’s going to be wet and cold, but at least with the plastic bag, it may minimize that.

Ok, checklist … bought new socks, fanny pack, whistle, rain gear, new briefs, 2 extra pairs of khaki’s, camera, documents … hope I didn’t forget anything. Now all I gotta do is pack when I get home from work today.

If I get to update anything at all from the road, I’ll do it from twitter. I have my twitter activity automatically copied over to my facebook main page, so you’ll be able to see my comments on facebook (even if you don’t have a twitter account). This should be interesting. This year, I won’t be able to be a fan … but I’ll sure be supporting the efforts of keeping this one of the most prestigious cycling events of the year.

Oh, one more thing … just a little rant of mine. Everyone knows that Lance is racing, and everyone is expecting him to win … and he may just do that. But people forget that this is the year we will have so many successful racers from the past making a comeback … there’s Lance, Ivan Basso, Floyd Landis … and then there’s the success of Garmin and Columbia. Oh, BTW, defending champ is Levi Leipheimer, who happens to be on the same team as Lance. So you’d think that the headline would be probably the competitive tour on American soil … and there is still very little attention paid to this event. Instead, we focus on A-Rod testing positive for steroids 5-8 years ago … sheesh!

Ok, back on topic … I just hope it doesn’t rain too much. I’d hate to see half the riders bail out before we get to the real climbing in the tour.

This entry was posted in cycling, Rants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

